Sri Lanka: 22 Amendment Passes

1 min read
President Ranil Wickremesinghe [ File Photo ]

The 22nd Amendment to the Constitution was passed in Parliament with 174 votes in favour and one against while 49 were absent.

The second reading of the 22nd Amendment was passed with 179 MPs voted in favour while only one MP voting against. Sri Lanka Podhujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Sarath Weerasekara voted against the amendment that proposed to trim Executive powers of the Presidency.

There were notable absentees as well including former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and Chief Whip of the House Prasanna Ranathunga.

Sri Lanka Guardian

The Sri Lanka Guardian is an online web portal founded in August 2007 by a group of concerned Sri Lankan citizens including journalists, activists, academics and retired civil servants. We are independent and non-profit. Email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

Global Microsoft IT Outage Disrupts Businesses Worldwide Companies, banks, and airlines around the world have been